Trying to keep myself occupied

Home Forums General Trying to keep myself occupied

This topic contains 18 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  kitty 4 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author

kitty
    Participant

Hi everyone

I am now four and a half weeks post DIANA SI joint revision surgery. I have to use crutches for 12 weeks but lie down most of the time. This means that i am pretty much housebound, so I have been trying to keep myself occupied. This is the first week I have felt slightly better, and boredom is setting in…. I’ve watched far too much rubbish daytime TV, I’ve read lots of books, some good and some bad, watched several DVD’s, and done umpteen crosswords and word searches. Unfortunately, I’m not really good at crafts etc., but I was really looking for something else to do, so someone suggested colouring!

I looked on Amazon and saw that you can get colouring books for adults (!), so i ordered one and a pack of crayons. The one I ordered is called ‘Colour Yourself Calm’ and is a book of Mandalas. These are circles, very intricate and used as a form of meditative art. I am finding tcolouring them very relaxing!

I can recommend colouring -even though doing it makes me feels about 9 years old! Does anybody have anything else they could suggest?

Thanks….. here’s wishing you all a pain free evening….

sarah kay
    Participant

Keep colouring and enjoy being creative. Do hope your health improves
    soon sarahx

jackie Kellie
    Participant

I too bought some colouring materials Wore a hat and dark shades in the shop!!!

however I found it one of the most relaxing and absorbing past times. I m not good at crafts either.

What about learning a new language? plenty of help on the internet

All the best

Rose
    Participant