Any advice on how to help other people understand.

Home Forums General Forum (now closed, but readable and searchable) Any advice on how to help other people understand.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Wendy
    Participant

Does anyone have any good advice on how to help non-sufferers understand what we are going through? I thought I’d have it OK as I am a nurse but my colleagues on the ward just don’t seem to get it. They think that having a sit down for 5 minutes will sort everything out (I have pain in both feet following nerve damage during orthopaedic surgery). Also no-one seems to understand my theory that as my feet will hurt whatever I do I might as well have pain and pretty shoes as the same amount of pain and ugly clumpy things (pretty shoes also have the added benefit of cheering me up!). I’ve tried explaining to the other nurses using pain scores (which we use with the children on the ward) but they can’t understand how I can carry on working with a daily pain score of at least 6-7 out of 10, increasing to 10 on bad days (I’m stubborn and I love my job, I refuse to let my crappy feet get the better of me!). How can I explain that even though the pain IS horrific (I often get the feeling they think I’m exaggerrating) I won’t let it stop me doing the things I want to do?

Anne
    Participant

Hi Wendy

There’s a great letter somewhere on the forum that explains to people exactly how you feel. Sorry I couldn’t find it but I know it’s there somewhere!