Understanding pain

Home Forums General Understanding pain

This topic contains 16 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Mart 1 week, 6 days ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author

Mart
    Participant

Hi all

I have just joined the forum. Site looks great and lots of helpful and useful information. Well done to those who have set it up.

I have been seeking pain relief for 7 years for cervical spinal pain. I have had various treatments (including spinal surgery) but all to no avail. I have also had to give up work.

I am bewildered about my pain. I do not find the medical profession very knowledgeable. Drug treatment seems to be their main response (at least here in Wales where I live). I have yet to be referred to a pain clinic. The kind of help that I need does not seem to be available (or at least I have not found it yet).

While I subscribe to notions of ‘self-help’ and ‘owing my own pain’, I find this philosophy is only helpful if it produces some benefits. In my experience of pain, it is of little or no help. Being left on your own to make sense of it all does not help me.

There is also a confusing array of treatments out there which serve to confuse rather than help. Many also are in the business of making money out of people’s pain.

I am just wondering do other people in chronic pain feel like I do about the situation. Are there shared concerns and if so, what can we do to change it.

Navchic
    Participant

Hi Mart